Felony DWI in Texas
Get Defense from an Austin DWI Lawyer
According to Texas state law, an individual’s first and second charges of DWI are considered misdemeanors—the first charge is considered a Class B misdemeanor and the second is a Class A misdemeanor. If the individual goes on to a third violation of DWI laws, the charge will be elevated to a 3rd Degree felony.
DWI charges can also be considered felony offenses depending on the specific circumstances of the case. Penalties for felony DWI’s are more severe than misdemeanor charges and effective defense against such charges requires strong representation by an experienced Austin DWI lawyer.
Contact Stephen T. Bowling, Austin DWI Attorney at (512) 595-7080 today.
When is a DWI considered a felony offense?
In addition to a third offense DWI, there are specific DWI charges that count as felony offenses as well.
Texas felony DWI offenses also include:
- DWI with a child under 15 in the vehicle: At the time of the arrest, there was a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle
- Intoxication assault: As a result of the alleged DWI, someone else was injured in a car accident. This includes passengers of the driver’s vehicle in a single car accident.
- Intoxication manslaughter: As a result of the alleged DWI, someone was killed in a car accident. This includes passengers of the driver’s vehicle in a single car accident.
There are also more specific “enhanced offenses” articulated by the law that may result in even greater consequences.
What are the penalties for a felony DWI?
While the specific sentences that accompany a conviction for felony DWI in Texas may differ on a case-by-case basis, consequences for a felony DWI generally include:
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- Jail time in state prison for between two and 10 years
- License suspension for up to two years
- Up to 600 hours of community service
For intoxication manslaughter, which is a 2nd degree felony, the maximum jail sentence rises to no more than 20 years and the maximum community service hours can reach up to 800 hours.
If you have been charged with a felony DWI or believe you may be charged with felony DWI, contact Stephen T. Bowling, Austin DWI Attorney at (512) 595-7080.