Call 24/7 for Jail Release or schedule a Free Consultation:

(512) 599-9000

Call 24/7 for Jail Release or schedule a Free Consultation:

(512) 599-9000

first offense DWI

The state of Texas is one of the harshest states in the union on those who are arrested for DWI. In Texas, driving while intoxicated is a criminal offense like in other states. But in the state of Texas, if you are arrested, you could have your license suspended even before you defend yourself in court. Because the consequences of a first offense DWI are so severe, it is important to find an excellent DWI attorney to defend you.


What Is a DWI?

DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. In the state of Texas, you can be arrested for a DWI if you have a Blood Alcohol Level that exceeds .08 or if you fail a chemical drug test. If you fail to take a breathalyzer or chemical test altogether, then you will be arrested for DWI. If you are arrested, you might be subject to having your license suspended immediately.

Consequences of a First Offense DWI

If you have a BAC level of .08, but less than .15, you can face a fine of up to $2,000. It is also possible that you could spend anywhere from 3 to 180 days in prison. For a first offense DWI, you can also have your license suspended for 90 days up to one year for a Class B misdemeanor. If, however, your BAC exceeds .15, it is considered a Class A misdemeanor. The fine can increase to as much as $4,000, and your prison time can be as much as a year.

What Is a Non-Disclosure?

If you have a BAC that lands anywhere from .08 to .14, you can apply for something called a “non-disclosure.” You can do so two years from when your probation ends. If you get a non-disclosure, it restricts who is able to view your criminal record. Only authorized people will see your criminal charge. If you are granted a non-disclosure, then you are required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car for six months.

If you are arrested for DWI in Texas, the consequences are very steep. Not only is your license automatically suspended, but it might lead to a criminal record, even for the first offense. The only way to avoid an arrest for DWI is to have the charges dismissed. A DWI lawyer can help to minimize the consequences that come with a first offense DWI conviction. For help with your DWI offense, call Stephen T. Bowling, an expert DWI lawyer in the state of Texas. He will help you build a winning defense and protect your future.

© 2018 Stephen T Bowling, Austin DWI Attorneys
10.0Stephen Bowling 10.0David Michael Thomas

Principal Office:
700 Lavaca St, 14th floor
Austin, Texas 78701

Phone:
(512) 599-9000

Fax:
(512) 236-5459

STAY CONNECTED WITH US:           Stephen BowlingReviewsout of 5 reviews David Michael ThomasReviewsout of 2 reviews