DWI Defense for College Students
Protect Your Future: Call an Austin DWI Attorney
When looking forward to completing a college education and setting out into the real world, anything that can keep you from achieving your goals is simply not worth the risk—especially when the obstacle can be avoided.
Unfortunately, the number of DWI arrests in Texas for defendants in within the college age range is high. At Stephen T. Bowling, Austin DWI Attorney, we want to make sure that you have every opportunity to succeed, especially when it means defending you against a DWI charge.
Don't wait to talk to a DWI attorney in Austin about your case. Call (512) 595-7080!
Austin DWI Defense For College Students
College students under the age of 21 can be arrested for a charge of Driving Under the Unfluence (DUI) if they have any traceable amount of alcohol in their blood content at the time of the traffic stop. It is against Texas law for an underage individual to consume alcohol in most situations, therefore even the slightest detection of it while driving can lead to a criminal charge of DUI.
Moreover, a college student of any age, over or under 21, can face a charge of Driving While Intoxicated if they have a blood alcohol content of .08 or above at the time of the traffic stop. In fact, the way Texas law is written, you can be convicted of a DWI with a blood alcohol content under .08!
Penalties for an underage DWI in Austin may include:
- Jail time: Between 3 and 180 days for a first offense, up to 1 year for a 2nd offense
- Fines: Up to $2,000 for a first offense, up to $4,000 for a 2nd offense
- License suspension: Up to 90 days for a first offense, between three days and one year for a second offense
What About Your Record?
In addition to the penalties for an underage DWI conviction, the arrest and conviction will be on record and most likely will affect the student’s standing in present and future schools. Depending on the circumstances of the case, if the student’s BAC is recorded at .08 or higher at the time of the arrest, he or she may be charged as an adult and face more extreme penalties. College students over the age of 21 arrested for DWI in Texas will face the standard penalties for DWI and have the conviction on their record permanently. DWI convictions in Texas cannot be expunged or sealed.
Don’t let one mistake in college haunt you for the rest of your life. If you’ve been arrested and need a DWI lawyer in Austin, contact our firm at (512) 595-7080 for a free case evaluation today.