When you are convicted for driving while intoxicated in Georgetown, Texas, you can face numerous penalties. While jail time is certainly a possibility, the suspension of your driver’s license is basically a given that will have repercussions throughout your life.
If you can’t legally drive a vehicle, you could lose your job. You would be reliant on others or public transportation for simple trips to the grocery store, church, or your child’s school. Basic transportation needs would become an ordeal because you’d always have to look for a ride just to get around town. Fun road trips with you at the wheel would not be possible.
Don’t let this happen. Hire a knowledgeable attorney who specializes in DWI conviction to help you regain your driving privileges and guide you through license reinstatement once you are eligible.
How Long Could Your License be Suspended?
Depending on your record, the amount of time you can lose your license for a DWI conviction will vary. Each consecutive conviction results in increased consequences and more severe penalties. Your blood alcohol content (BAC), the presence of an open container of alcohol, the ages of any passengers in the vehicle, and any resulting injuries or fatalities will influence the outcome of your case.
A first DWI offense will warrant a license suspension of 90 days up to one year. You will be issued a Notice of Suspension, but will be allowed to drive temporarily until the time of your court hearing. Aside from fines up to $2,000, you may be required to perform community service, attend DWI education, or be put on probation.
For a second offense DWI, you can lose your license for 180 days up to two years. This comes with a penalty of up to one year in jail or up to two years probation, and a fine of up to $4,000. In the state of Texas, a second DWI is considered a felony and will go on your criminal record.
A third DWI conviction is considered a third-degree felony in Texas, and you will lose your license for a minimum of 180 days up to two years. You may also face a fine up to $10,000. Two to ten years incarceration in a Texas prison is another possibility. You will also lose the right to vote and the right to own a firearm.
DWI with a Child Passenger
If there are passengers under the age of 15 in the car when you are charged with DWI, you can lose your license for up to 180 days. You will be charged with child endangerment and additional fines up to $10,000. You can also be put in jail for up to two years.
It is important to seek legal counsel as soon as possible if your license is suspended for a DWI conviction.
Possible Repercussions of a Suspended License
A suspended driver’s license can:
- Cause you to lose your job and hinder your future employment opportunities. You will be required to depend on public transportation or rely on the services of family members and colleagues to get to work, shop, or attend to business of any kind.
- Without a valid driver’s license, international travel can be impossible. Some countries, such as Canada, restrict entry of individuals who have been convicted of DWI.
- You may also encounter increased auto insurance rates after a DWI. Premiums can go up by up exponentially with any safe driver discounts being eliminated. A DWI conviction can make it very hard to find reasonable insurance quotes.
- Felons lose the right to vote and cannot purchase or own firearms.
To avoid financial hardship and the loss your freedoms, contact an attorney right away.
Jail Time for Driving on a Suspended License
If you drive with a suspended license, you are breaking the law. In Texas, it is considered a misdemeanor after a first time DWI conviction. On the first offense, it may not lead to jail time, but additional fines and a longer period of license suspension may result.
If you have had more than one DWI conviction, you can face up to six months in the county jail. If you are stopped by a policeman, you may be arrested or given a date to appear in court. Because you will not be allowed to leave the scene by driving, you will be responsible for towing fees. Criminal fines can range up to $2,000.
Regaining Your Driving Privileges
It is possible to avoid losing your license after a DWI in Georgetown, Texas, with the help of an experienced attorney. Get help ASAP from Stephen T. Bowling to keep your driving privileges. If your charges are a misdemeanor, or even a felony, it is possible to have the charges dropped.